America the…

For the past two weeks I have been busy in a number of different ways. I attended a conference, started to apply for a scholarship, and contracted the dreaded North Dakota Winter Cold/The Bubonic Plague. So, you will have to forgive me and accept my apologies for the late manner in which I now return to Adversaria.  I did not have much time to think of anything, much less the greater questions of life, while at the conference I attended or while starting the application process for this scholarship. However, over the course of the last four days, while curled up in bed resting and trying to combat my illness, I had plenty of time to simply think… and so think I did. The topic of discussion in my little head? America. Or, rather, the state thereof: The state of America. The more I thought about it I realized that there is something terribly wrong with this country, isn’t there?

Don’t worry, I am not going to turn this into some radical Tea Party rant, nor am I going to espouse an ultra-liberal political agenda. In fact, I would plea with my reader to simply lay aside their political biases for a moment and consider what I have to say as an American.

America today suffers from a stunning lack of perspective… we know so little of ourself as a country, as a modern nation. Do we have priorities? Do we really? Allow me to put to you a few observations. In a country that supposedly values education the cost of attendance at our universities and colleges rises every year and as a result over the last 25 years American institutions have raised their cost of attendance an average of 150%, with the highest rates topping 400%. On  a yearly average, 17% of all college students in the U.S. have to drop out due to the rising cost of attendance, with the highest state rate at 24% in California. Do we really value education?

In a country that espouses the importance of family and family values we have a divorce rate that is among the highest in the world. Over 40% (some statistics point to a rate of over 50%) of all child-bearing households will end in divorce,  with the divorce rate increasing by 15% for each marriage the divorced couple enters after their first. Do we really value family?

In a country that prides itself on the openness of its political system and a place where political aspirations can become a reality we have a horrible mess of a political system. In fact, our political system is so open that you have to align yourself with one of two parties in order to be seen as a politically viable candidate. It’s so open that all you need to run a presidential campaign is the small amount $50 million. In the 2008 presidential campaign John McCain raised a total of $368 million while Barack Obama raised a total of $745 million, for a combined $1.1 billion dollars. The fact that political scientists say that to even think about running for president a prospective candidate needs at least $50 million is absolutely ridiculous. The fact that the two candidates campaign funds combine to equal the annual economic output of some of Middle-America’s cities is also absolutely ridiculous. Barack Obama’s cash-on-hand report was enough to buy out some of America’s most industrious energy companies, and the overall amount of $745 million dollars could have single handedly financed the operation of 76% of all public schools in America for six hours; and, with the combined $1.1 billion every school in America, and then some, could have operated for six hours.

My point, ladies and gentleman, is that we, as a country, seem to have a lost a certain perspective. We are more unaware of the inherent hypocrisies in our nation than we have ever been before, and this is a dangerous thing. There is a disconnect between what we say we value and how we act. I am simply calling for us to take several steps back and reevaluate what we, as a nation, value and what our priorities are. As far as I am concerned we are not “America the Beautiful” or “America The Land of the  Free,” because I am not entirely convinced even American’s know what America is. I think we need to start an intelligent, rational, and realistic conversation about what we as a country believe in, what we would fight for… talk about things like equality, political campaign finance, race, religion, sexual orientation. I think we, as a nation, have forgotten the importance of discussion. So, let’s start one, so that we no longer have to be “America The…?”.

5 Comments

  1. In regard to marriage, there is a high divorce rate. I don’t know that divorce means we don’t value family. There are lots of countries with a low divorce rate but often it’s because women can’t afford to get a divorce or people stay together even though they are really unhappy. I would argue that divorce often benefits the woman (in a heterosexual marriage.) To me, an indicator of what we think of family is how we don’t want to admit or accept anything but the most traditional definitions of “family.” A family with same-sex parents is not a “family.” Same-sex marriages are not even allowed. Single parent families do not fall in the traditional definition of marriage. So if we really value family, then shouldn’t we be much more inclusive in our definition?

    • Very good point Colleen. I was actually hoping that someone would come along and make that point. Although, I would contest, respectfully of course, your point that divorce doesn’t necessarily mean that we do not value family. I think if America truly valued the family unit like we say we do, regardless of whether the couple is same-sex or not, divorce would be less common. I understand that part of your point is that what constitutes a family needs to be redefined, and I completely agree. In the post, I am not addressing the issue of the definition itself – I am more or less dealing with the so called “status quo”/current definition and applying that to our so-called “value of family.” I think that through dealing with the current definition, in its restrictive and exclusive manner, we may call for a redefinition, as you have. In fact, I think you certainly furthered my argument, which is great. 🙂 Disclaimer: I reply to your comment at the risk of making myself sound incredibly ignorant. 😛

      • I don’t know, Jon. We are in agreement with everything but the divorce issue. I think Dong Laoshi also made the same point in class yesterday. My honest sense, after all my travels and all my observations is that there are not all that many happy marriages in the world regardless of whether they are “love” marriages, arranged marriages, or whatever. And, it’s almost always the case that it’s women who are forced by economic or social pressure to stay in a marriage. If I were unhappy in a relationship (and it has happened), I would not want any kind of government interference to make me stay in it.
        Don’t worry, you never sound ignorant! 🙂

  2. This was not bad.
    Overall an interesting area of discussion.
    🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment